tumblr_nue5fpJM711ubg0oto8_400

I had been looking forward this fourth installment of the Throne of Glass series for months, and I am thrilled to say it did not disappoint. I loved it. I loved it. I loved it! Everything about this story—the plot, the worldbuilding, the new characters, the returning characters—all of these factors were well crafted and just plain exciting to read. While, I must admit that the last two books did not quite make me feel the same magic when reading of the first, I am ecstatic to say that the fourth novel exceeded my expectations. In fact, I would go so far as to claim this as my favorite of the entire series. Why did I love it so much? One of the main reasons is Celaena’s love interest. Now, I’m not going to give away any specifics, but I was already rooting for this couple, and the fact that their relationship developed into a romance in this installment surprised and thrilled me to no end! There were also other romances beginning to bloom within the main cast of characters, all of which I really liked and am eager to see grow. The plot in this novel was absolutely amazing. I was literally sitting on the edge of my bed throughout the duration of my read, tearing through the pages to see what would happen next. Maas has a gift for buildup and suspense, while also never failing to deliver unexpected twists and turning points.
As usual for Maas, the character development was phenomenal. By the conclusion of the story, I felt Celaena’s emotional journey had almost come full circle. I loved how in this book, the distinction between Aelin’s and Celaena’s personalities is clearly laid out before the reader. While I instantly became attached to Celaena in the first book precisely because of her courage and charmingly reckless attitude, in this volume I came to appreciate Aelin so much more, and I really was impressed by how different Maas presented the two identities to be. Indeed, it seemed as if all of the major characters had fully realized story arcs. While the conflict is far from being resolved, I found the ending to be satisfying, more like a closing of one chapter of the story and the opening of the next.

📚✔︎ Would recommend for those who love high fantasy.

If I could summarize this book in one word: Epic

Here’s an official summary of Queen of Shadows on goodreads.

My rating (out of 5 stars): ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

